The Vienna Convention on Succession of States in Respect of Treaties is an international treaty opened for signature in 1978 to set rules on succession of states. It was adopted partly in response to the “profound transformation of the international community brought about by the decolonization process”.

The convention come to effect from November 6, 1996. There 15 states ratified to this convention.